Important Dates

Important Dates For Parents 2018

Day Date Time Event
Tuesday 16 January 14h00
15h00
15h0016h00
17h00
New Boarders and New Day Boys (Grade 1 – 7) Arrive
Current boarders return
Headmaster welcomes all new boys (Boarders & Day Boys Grades 1 to 7). Refreshments served and visit to Classroom.
Meeting for all Boarder Parents
Boarder Parents’ and New Parents’ Cocktail Party at
Pennington Pavilion with Class arents and PA Members
Wednesday 17 January 07h30 First Term begins
Friday 19 January 13h00 Boarders’ Closed Weekend
Saturday 20 January 07h30 -12h30 Saturday School Grade 4 – 6
Sunday 21 January Boarders closed weekend
Monday 22 January Grade 3 to 7 Extra Mural Timetable begins
Tuesday 23 January 13h00 Grades 1 & 2 Cricket Begins
Thursday 25 January 18h00
18h00
18h30
INKY (Pre-Primary): Class Teacher/Parents’ Evening
JP: Class Teacher/Parents’ Evening
SP: Class Teacher/Parents’ Evening
Wednesday 7 February 10h00 School Birthday Celebrations (106 years)
Friday 9 February 14h30 – 15h30 SWIMMING:  Pre-Gala Events. Compulsory for Grades 3 to 7 (parents welcome)
Wednesday 14 February 13h00 – 16h00

18h30

INTER-HOUSE: Swimming Gala (Compulsory for Grades 3 to 7 boys)
100 Club at the Pennington Pavilion
Thursday 15 February  Boys wear greys
CRICKET: 1st XI depart for Prep Schools’ Cricket Festival at Western Province Prep until Sunday 18 February
Mid-Term Begins
Tuesday 20 February  07h30 School resumes after Mid-Term break
Saturday 10 March 07h30 – 12h30 Saturday School Grade 4 – 7
CRICKET: Cordwalles U11 Festival
Monday 12 March 1st Term Extra Mural Timetable Ends, refer to Calendar Card for Rugby Practice Times for the Rest of the Term
Saturday 17 March  08h30 RUGBY:  Midlands Rugby Festivals (U9 to Open)
Camp-over at Orient Park Midmar Dam
Sunday 18 March aQuelle Cordwalles Mudman at Midmar Dam
Tuesday 20  March 14h30 – 17h00 Report Distribution
Wednesday 21 March 07h30 – 12h30
08h30 – 10h00
PUBLIC HOLIDAY (Human Rights Day)
School Working Day
Grades 1,2 & Inky (Pre-Primary) Swimming Gala
Thursday 22 March 14h30 – 17h00
18h30
Report Distribution
Easter Chapel Service. Compulsory for Grades 4 to 7 boys (parents welcome)
 Friday

Wednesday

 23 March

28 April

10h00
10h30
11h00
Boys wear greys
First Term ends
Term ends Grades RR to 3
Term ends Grades 4 to 7
Report Distribution – Boarder Parents Only (By Appointment)RUGBY: 1st XV Tour Depart to St John’s College Easter Rugby Festival in Johannesburg until Monday 2 April

Day Date Time Event
Monday 16 April 15h00 – 17h00 All Boarders return
Tuesday 17 April 07h30 Second Term begins
Grade 3 to 7 Extra Mural Timetable begins
Thursday 19 April 13h00 – 14h00 Grade 1 & 2 Soccer begins
Saturday 21 April 07h30 – 12h30 Saturday School. Grade 4 to 7 & Hobbies
Friday 27 April 07h30 – 13h00 Public Holiday (Freedom Day). School working day.
School Picnic (Compulsory for boys Grades 1 to 7)
No School for Pre-Primary
Monday 30 April PUBLIC HOLIDAY (Government Public Holiday) – NO SCHOOL
Tuesday 1 May PUBLIC HOLIDAY (Workers Day) – NO SCHOOL
Sunday 13 May  07h00
07h30
Grade 7: Environmental Trip leaves for Babanango
Grade 6: Environmental Trip leaves for the Great Adventure
Monday  14 May  07h30
07h30
Grade 5: Environmental Trip leaves for Roselands
Grade 4: Environmental Trip leaves for Spirit of Adventure
Tuesday  15 May 07h30 Grade 3: Environmental Trip leaves for Cumberland
Wednesday  16  May 18h30 Environmental Trips return
100 Club at the Pennington Pavilion
Thursday  17 May 10h00
10h30
Boys wear Greys
Mid Term Break Grade RR to 3
Mid Term Break Grade 4 to 7
Tuesday  22 May 07h30 School resumes after Mid-Term break
Friday 8 June 09h30 – 12h00 Grades 4 – 6 Grandparents’ Day
Monday 11 June 18h00 MUSIC: Combined Choirs
Tuesday 12 June 18h00 MUSIC: Combined Choirs
Wednesday 13 June 18h30 MUSIC: Combined Choirs
Wednesday 20 June 14h30 – 18h00 Report Distribution
Thursday 21 June 14h30 – 17h00 Report Distribution
 Friday  22 June  

10h00
10h30
11h00

Boys wear Greys
Second Term ends
Grade RR to 3
Grade 4 to 7
Boarder Report Distribution – by appointment only

Day Date Time Event
Monday 16 July 15h00 – 17h00 All Boarders return
Tuesday 17 July 07h30 Third Term begins
Thursday 19 July  13h00 – 14h00 Grade 1 & 2 Hockey begins
Saturday 21 July 07h30 – 12h30 Saturday School Grade 4 to 7 & Hobbies
Tuesday 24 July 18h30 PA AGM in at the Pennington Pavilion – All Parents Welcome
Wednesday 24 July 14h15 – 16h00 ATHLETICS: 1200m and Tug-o-War
Friday 27 July 09h00 – 10h30

14h00 – 17h00

ATHLETICS DAY: Inky (Pre-primary) and Junior Primary (Grades 1 and 2)
ATHLETICS DAY: Junior Primary (Grade 3) & Senior Primary (Grades 4 to 7) (Compulsory for all Grades 3 to 7 boys)
Thursday 9 August 07h30 – 12h30 PUBLIC HOLIDAY (National Women’s Day) – School Working Day
Friday 10 August 07h30 -12h30 PUBLIC HOLIDAY – School Working Day
Wednesday 15 August 18h30 100 Club in the Pennington Pavilion
Thursday 16 August 10h00
10h30
Boys wear greys
Mid-Term Begins
Pre-Primary and Junior Primary closes
Senior Primary closes
Tuesday 21 August 07h30 School Resumes after Mid-Term
Friday 31 August 08h30
09h30
INKY (Pre-Primary): Grandparents’ Day
JP: Grandparents’ Day
Saturday 8 September 07h30 – 12h30 Saturday School (Grades 4 to 7)
 Friday

Wednesday
Thursday
Friday

14 September

19 September
20 September
21 September

09h30
12h30 – 15h0019h00 – 20h30
19h00 – 20h30

10h00
10h30

 Grade 4: Victorian Day
Grade 7: Grandparents’ Day
Grade 6: Entrepreneurial Market Day
Grade 7: Play Performance
Grade 7: Play Performance
Boys wear Greys
Second Term ends
Grade RR to 3
Grade 4 to 7

Day Date Time Event
Dates to Follow

WordPress Video Lightbox