Speech Day & Prize Giving 2018


THIS IS FOR A BOY WHO HAS ACHIEVED  Academic Merit (80% and above)

In Grade 4D
Second in Class with Academic Merit Riley Graves
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Dane Harrison
IN Grade 4G
Academic Merit Bradley Cook
Second in Class with Academic Merit Arav Lalloo
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Matthew Longmore
In Grade 5C
Academic Merit Christopher Gilson
Second in Class with Academic Merit Radhesh Jhilmeet
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Milan Latchmanan
In Grade 5N
Academic Merit Tumi Motsepe
Academic Merit Suvan Mohan
Second in Class With Academic Merit William Gilson & Robbie Cullis
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit André Boshoff
In Grade 5V
Academic Merit Franko Bocking
Academic Merit Nathan Dickason
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Adam Zammit & Samuel Deane


In Grade 6 OVERALL
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Johnathan Baber
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Gareth Egberink
Academic Merit and Academic Tie James Fender
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Ayabonga Shivane
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Luke Spear
Third in Grade with Academic Merit & Academic Tie Connor Sawyer & Thivaar Mudaliar
FIRST in Grade with Academic Merit & Academic Tie Jarred Maltby & Sebastien le Roux
In Grade 7
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Jordan Baxter


Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Luke Hubble
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Mark Brombacher
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Aryan Govender
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award  

Ruben Marx

Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Michael Sara


 Grade 7 Subject prizes
The English prize goes to 84.7% Mark Brombacher
The Afrikaans prize goes to 85.9% Ruben Marx
The Natural Science prize goes to 90.5% Mark Brombacher


isiZulu goes to 83.2% Kuhle Mthimkhulu
The Social Science prize goes to 91%






Michael Sara


The Crookes Trophy Is for the pupil who has achieved the highest combined aggregate for Social Science and Natural Science. With an aggregate of  87% for the two subjects the trophy is awarded to Michael Sara


The Mathematics prize goes to




Mark Brombacher
The Raciborski Information Technology Trophy



For his interest, commitment and dedication in computer science. Thomas Griffin
Smith Family Trophy for Speech and Drama For consistently high standard and contribution in drama lessons. Sikuwe Msibi
Director’s Cup The van Velden Trophy This year, the trophy is awarded to a boy who showed enormous commitment to the school play, who led by example. Nkosiyethu Shozi
Best Actor’s Cup For his versatility and natural stage presence Michael John van Selm
Art Prize For a senior boy who shows a flair, talent and love for the subject Oliver Armstrong
Design Technology Prize For a boy who displays an aptitude and love for the subject Luke Hubble
General Knowledge Prize Awarded to the senior boy who has achieved top marks in the termly General Knowledge tests Sikuwe Msibi
Young Reader of the Year 2018 presented to a boy whose reading range is both Diverse and Discerning


Christopher Adam
The Chess Player of the Year:                                                Connor Sawyer
Hallot Trophy For determination and dedication to music. Sikuwe Msibi
Brent Black Trophy For excellence in music. This trophy is awarded to a pupil who has a natural talent and works hard to achieve a standard of excellence. Aryan Govender
The Fred Palmer Cricket Bat The open Cricket Player of the year is James Campbell
The Redfern Trophy The open Hockey Player of the Year James Gilson
The Rugby Trophy The open Rugby Player of the year is shared this year and the recipients are: Ruben Marx
The Cock House Goes to the champion sports house


1. Baines – 187.5

2. Tathams – 177.5

3. Jacksons – 169

4. Butchers – 133


Tatham Memorial Essay Goes to a boy in Grade 7 who, in the opinion of the staff and external examiners, has written the best set essay in English. Jordan Baxter
Twin Streams Earth Care Prize

Donated by Ian and Jean Garland

The recipient displays a love for nature and an understanding of the environment.  

Benjamin Guimaraens

Dr Maurice Peters Memorial trophy for sportsmanship


Is awarded to a boy who displays humility in victory and graciousness in defeat. Who at all times up-holds the ethos of manners, competitiveness and team spirit in a balanced fashion to the betterment of sport above himself. Chad Newman


All Round Sportsman of the year trophy.

The Liebie van Heerden Trophy

This award is based on a points system and this year it has been impossible to separate the recipients.  Between these two outstanding all round sportsman, they have represented the school’s first teams in cricket, hockey, swimming, athletics, cross-country and rugby. The award for 2018 is shared between Thomas Mitchell and Jordan Baxter
The Whittle Trophy

Courage, tenacity & perseverance

For perseverance in adversity and continuous application, diligence and tenacity with a will to achieve. Kwanele Gumbi
The Whitelaw Trophy The recipient of this award has been committed and achieved worthy praise for his huge contribution on the sports field, academically, culturally and spiritually. Jordan Baxter
Sally Cornish Trophy


The recipient of this award is well liked and respected by the boys and is always willing to help others.


Oliver Armstrong
The Reed Trophy


Both these boy has a deep sense of integrity and are true to themselves at all times.  They stand up for what is right and are balanced and principled.  

Evan Kurz & Michael Sara

The Biggs Family Trophy

Service to the School

The recipients this year work hard behind the scenes and give selflessly of themselves to the betterment of the school. This year the award is shared between  

Mohamed Kajee & Judah Conolly

The De’ann Brooks Trophy for Tribute to Cordwalles

For respect for God, others, the environment & himself.

(manners & thinking of others)

This trophy is awarded to a boy who has contributed to Cordwalles in every way with manners, self-discipline, success and giving the school an excellent public image.  This year the prize is shared between


Luke Hubble & Aryan Govender


We now come to the final academic awards which culminates in the
Dux of the School.
Third in Grade 7 Jordan Baxter, Aryan Govender & Luke Hubble
Second in Grade 7 Michael Sara
Dux of School This is a grade 7 pupil who has attained the highest aggregate over the whole year. He is a young man with a will to succeed The 2018 Dux with an aggregate of 88% is: Mark Brombacher
Headmaster’s Award


The boy who receives this award has made an outstanding contribution in all spheres of school life.  He sets a fine example by always giving of his best in all he does.  He has been an excellent ambassador and he has shown a willingness to stand by the values of the school. The 2018 Headmaster’s Award for his enormous contribution to Cordwalles goes to Ruben Marx
John Fowler Good Fellowship Award This goes to a boy who in the opinion of the school, is a young man who shows sincerity, compassion caring and loyalty to his fellow pupils.  This award is voted on by the Grade 4 – 7 boys and the staff. He is someone who raised the spirits of those around him.  A boy one would be proud to introduce to your parents and friends as a role model. Sikuwe Msibi

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Video Lightbox