Speech Day & Prize Giving 2019


THIS IS FOR A BOY WHO HAS ACHIEVED  Academic Merit (80% and above)

Elias Mutale

Independent thinker and quiet perseverance
In Grade 4D
Academic Merit Sbonokuhle Sithebe


Academic Merit Luke Treleaven


Academic Merit Mitchell Bekker


Tied FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Imran Mahomed and

Kaidan Pillay


In Grade 4G
Academic Merit Connor Maitland


Academic Merit Arjun Wadhwani


Second in Class with Academic Merit Dylan Leppan


FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Luneziwe Mshengu


In Grade 5E  
Second in Class with Academic Merit Bradley Cook


FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Arav Lalloo


In Grade 5N  
Academic Merit Banele Phoswa
Second in Class With Academic Merit Skyler Nienaber
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Dane Harrison


In Grade 5V  
Academic Merit Riley Graves
Academic Merit Jaemin Seong
Second in Class with Academic Merit Samuel Bromage
FIRST in Class with Academic Merit Matthew Longmore




In Grade 6 OVERALL

Academic Merit and Academic Tie William Gilson  
Third in Grade with Academic Merit & Academic Tie Suvan Mohan

Milan Latchmanan



Second in Grade with Academic Merit & Academic Tie Robbie Cullis


FIRST in Grade with Academic Merit & Academic Tie André Boshoff  
In Grade 7    
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Connor Sawyer


Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Thivaar Mudaliar


Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award


Ayabonga Shivane  
Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Jarred Maltby


Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Sebastien le Roux



Academic Merit and Academic Tie Re-Award Luke Spear



Grade 7 Subject prizes



The English prize goes to   Luke Spear


isiZulu goes to   Ayabonga Shivane

Kuhle Phungula

The Afrikaans prize goes to   Luke Spear

Thivaar Mudaliar

Sebastien le Roux 

The Natural Science and the Mathematics prize goes to   Sebastien le Roux 
The Social Science prize goes to  






Luke Spear
The Crookes Trophy Is for the pupil who has achieved the highest combined aggregate for Social Science and Natural Science. Sebastien le Roux 
The Raciborski Information Technology Trophy



For his interest, commitment and dedication in computer science. Joel Kempthorne
Smith Family Trophy for Speech and Drama For consistently high standard and contribution in drama lessons. Ayabonga Shivane
Director’s Cup The van Velden Trophy This year, the trophy is awarded to two boys who showed enormous commitment to the school play and who led by example. Sebastien Hofmeyr and Jarred Maltby
Best Actor’s Cup For his versatility and natural stage presence Luke Spear and Luc Schravesande
Art Prize for a senior boy who shows a flair, talent and love for the subject Callum Henderson Ayabonga Shivane
Design Technology Prize For a boy who displays an aptitude and love for the subject Daniel Peckham
General Knowledge Prize Awarded to the senior boy who has achieved top marks in the termly General Knowledge tests Mahomed Haseeb Moosa
Young Reader of the Year 2019 presented to a boy whose reading range is both Diverse and Discerning


Mahomed Haseeb Moosa


The Chess Player of the Year:                                                Connor Sawyer
Hallot Trophy For determination and dedication to music. Jarred Maltby
Brent Black Trophy For excellence in music. This trophy is awarded to a pupil who has a natural talent and works hard to achieve a standard of excellence. Harshad Pillay
The Fred Palmer Cricket Bat The open Cricket Player of the year is West Mitchell-Innes
The Redfern Trophy The open Hockey Player of the Year Sebastian Hofmeyr
The Rugby Trophy The open Rugby Player of the year West Mitchell-Innes
Housework Trophy Top 10 boys in Grades 4 to 7 are ranked and earn points for their house 4th      Tathams

3rd     Butchers

2nd    Jacksons

Ist Baines

The Cock House Goes to the champion sports house


4. Tathams – 80 pts

3. Baines – 87 pts

2. Butchers – 91 pts

1. Jacksons – 95 pts



Tatham Memorial Essay Goes to a boy in Grade 7 who, in the opinion of the staff and external examiners, has written the best set essay in English. Luke Spear


Twin Streams Earth Care Prize

Donated by Ian and Jean Garland

The Recipient must display a love for nature, and understanding of the environment and show an active appreciation for the innate value of our natural heritage. . Benjamin Bryden
Cordwalles Boarding House Trophy

The Gayle Bastard Prize

For Boarder of the Year.  This is awarded to a pupil who shows empathy, guidance and reliability within the Boarding House at all times.          

Luc Schravesande


Dr Maurice Peters Memorial trophy for sportsmanship Is awarded to a boy who displays humility in victory and graciousness in defeat. Who at all times up-holds the ethos of manners, competitiveness and team spirit in a balanced fashion to the betterment of sport above himself.  

Joaquim Abreu

All Round Sportsman of the year trophy.

The Liebie van Heerden Trophy

The all round sportsman of the year trophy this year goes to a boy who has played for the first team and representative sport in the following disciplines: Cricket, Rugby and Hockey. He has swum in the A swimming team, represented the school at athletics and played in the second tennis team. . Sebastian Hofmeyr
The Whitelaw Trophy The recipient of this award has been committed and achieved worthy praise for his huge contribution on the sports field, academically, culturally and spiritually.  Jarred Maltby  
The Whittle Trophy

Courage, tenacity & perseverance

To two boys this year for their perseverance in adversity and continuous application, diligence and tenacity with a will to achieve. Siyamkela Maphumulo

Akhona Mchunu

Sally Cornish Trophy


The recipient of this award is respected for for his gentle, unobtrusive care and kindness to all Thivaar Mudaliar


The Reed Trophy


This boy has a deep sense of integrity and he is true to himself at all times.  He stands up for what is right and is balanced and principled.  Luc Shravesande
The Biggs Family Trophy

Service to the School

The recipient this year has work hard behind the scenes and has give himself selflessly and always in good humor  to the betterment of the school.  Mahomed Haseeb Moosa
The De’ann Brooks Trophy for Tribute to Cordwalles

For respect for God, others, the environment & himself.

(manners & thinking of others)

The trophy this year has been awarded to two outstanding gentleman who have a deep respect for all people, amazing empathy and intuition and are sensitive and caring people to those around them.

This year the award is shared between


Benjamin Bryden

Sebastian Hofmeyr



We now come to the final academic awards which culminates in the

Dux of the School.

Third in Grade 7    
Second in Grade 7 This year there are two boys who come 2nd in grade with an average of 82% Connor Sawyer

Jarred Maltby 

Dux of School This is a grade 7 pupil who has attained the highest aggregate over the whole year. He is a young man with a will to succeed The 2019 Dux with an aggregate of 87% is: Sebastien le Roux


Headmaster’s Award


The boy who receives this award has made an outstanding contribution in all spheres of school life.  He sets a fine example by always giving of his best in all he does.  He has been an excellent ambassador and he has shown a willingness to stand by the values of the school. The 2019 Headmaster’s Award for his enormous contribution to Cordwalles goes to Luke Spear
John Fowler Good Fellowship Award This goes to a boy who in the opinion of the school, is a young man who shows sincerity, compassion caring and loyalty to his fellow pupils.  This award is voted on by the Grade 4 – 7 boys and the staff. He is someone who raised the spirits of those around him.  A boy one would be proud to introduce to your parents and friends as a role model. Siyamkela Maphumulo

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Video Lightbox